In Brief One if by Land, Two if by Sea August 19, 2010 Waldo Jaquith 5 Comments Here’s your annual warning: the students return this weekend.
5 thoughts on “One if by Land, Two if by Sea”
And 29 is all but a parking lot both ways especially near Barracks Rd. It’s odd, the University buildings themselves are still pretty empty (I was in the bookstore, Alderman, Clemons and Newcomb this afternoon.) Main St. wasn’t too bad either. I presume it will all get even more nuts tomorrow.
I swear I spent 15 minutes going between Hydraulic to Barracks Road on 29/Emmet Street Thursday.
For me Most of the rest of the fall out from “back to school at Uva” will occur over the next few months and will manifest in the large numbers of additional cars with out of state plates on the roads and which will be cutting me off in traffic, as though insurance was never an important issue.
I think Virginia needs a auto registration law like California’s- where you have 10 days to switch your registration, Drivers License, and license plates over to your new state. And if you don’t- then you are subject to fines which start at the 1000s of dollars mark.
Out-of-state students are exempt from the registration requirement in California (and in most states, I’m pretty sure). And even if students were required to register their cars here, how is that supposed to cut down on traffic congestion? It would just mean fewer cars with out-of-state tags sitting in traffic.
From the CA DMV website:
The minute anyone going to school in California stops living in University owned housing- and starts renting “off campus.” They are subject to the vehicle registration requirements of the state of CA.
Fair point. It wouldn’t do much with regards to traffic congestion. But it would add money to the state and/or local governments- in that the vehicles using our roadways would be – via their fees and taxes- supporting the locality where they are primarily being used.
And it’s not really just an out of state student issue. I’ve seen far too many vehicles with out of state plates from people who are living here full time but have simply not switched their plates and registration over to reflect their new residence.
This is already a Virginia law, and has been for some time.
“By law, car registration is required within 30 days of moving to Virginia. If you have recently purchased a car, you need to register your car (purchase tags) and have your car inspected, unless these tasks have already been completed by the previous owner. However, as long as one family member is a full-time student and no one in the family is earning income in the state of Virginia, you may retain “out-of-state” status.”
Comments are closed.